fbpx

California’s 2020 Minimum Wage!

You are here: Home \ business \ California’s 2020 Minimum Wage!

California’s minimum wage will increase on January 1, 2020 to $13 per hour for employers with 26 or more employees and $12 for employers with 25 or fewer employees. California is the first state in the nation to commit to raising the minimum wage to $15 per hour statewide by 2022 for large businesses, and by 2023 for small businesses.

If your employees are working in a city our county that has a higher minimum wage (San Francisco, Oakland, Berkeley, or Los Angeles to name a few), you are responsible for paying the highest applicable wage. What does “working” mean? It means your employees are spending 2 or more hours in a city.

Take a look at the video for further explanation and as always, let me know if you have questions!

About author:
Asha Wilkerson is the founder of The Wilkerson Law Office, P.C. Ms. Wilkerson provides skilled advice and counsel to for-profit, non-profit, and faith-based organizations in the areas of business and employment law. Her mission is to preserve the longevity of your business by ensuring that every aspect of your organization is legally sound and operating in compliance with state and federal law.

Leave a Reply